This week I have mostly been making…

… jewellery for the 1970s showcase exhibition at my local arts centre.

I must admit, when they said they’d love some of my work, but ‘…could the colours be more 7os’, I immediately thought of the things that my parents had about the house when I was growing up. You know… the flowery orange and purple bedsheets; the brown and yellow patterned saucepans… (and if you’re too young to have seen such wonders, here’s an example.)

Vintage Dishes by ex.libris on Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.

Nice, hey?

You might be relieved to know that they didn’t want to go full on with the brown-orange colour scheme. I certainly was. I am still partway through making everything, but wanted to share what I have so far. I’ve made a whole bunch of knitting needle bangles, that you can see in the first image, and more of  my knitted flower brooches in zingy colourways. There’s just the one concession to the brown and orange flowers of my youth in the bottom left hand corner!

They’ll be on display and for sale at The Spring, Havant Arts Centre from 1st September til January 2011, but if you can’t wait for that you can also get them here.

Let me know what you think of the new colours: I’m really liking them and am wondering whether to go for this brighter look in my regular work.

2 responses

  1. I think they’re delightful, for what it’s worth! Living thro the 70s, as an adult & parent, was a nightmare, you couldn’t get ANYTHING in reasonable colours, thank God they’ve never really come back in the same way! (Crosses fingers!)

    16/08/2010 at 3:00 pm

  2. ingridnation

    Thanks very much Michele! I really did cross my fingers and hope that they didn’t want all brown and orange flowers 🙂

    16/08/2010 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

