Chilli Pepper Drying Tutorial

This year I planted chilli peppers and ended up with lots more than I am able to use. I’ve given away some and made others into chilli jam, but am still left with a trayful. I decided that drying them would be the best thing to do, so I can use them throughout the winter.

There are a few methods that you can use to dry the peppers including sun-drying or slow-baking them in the oven. Since this is the rainy British autumn and a shared oven, I decided to go the traditional route and dry them by stringing them up to dry. Here’s how I did it:

You will need: chillis, some large plastic buttons, some strong thread or fishing line, a large needle.

Step One: Secure a button to be the stopper at the bottom of the string of chillis, as below.

Step Two: String up the chillis by threading straight through the middle of each and pushing to the bottom of the string, against the button.

Step Three: When you’ve strung up all of your chillis, or when the line seems heavy, hang it up in a dry, well ventilated area to dry.

Mine are going into a draughty garden shed tomorrow. They should take about a month or so to dry out completely.

I’m sure you don’t need me to remind you that chillis can burn – do wear gloves if you are at all sensitive to them and be sure to wash your hands after touching them.

2 responses

  1. Christine

    Why not make a salsa and can it for the winter? Drying them seems like a lot of work!

    28/10/2009 at 12:27 am

    • ingridnation

      Because I don’t eat a lot of salsa, but I like dried chillis a lot and will use them as ingredients. It was really easy and took all of quarter of an hour!

      04/11/2009 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

