But should I make an earwig too?

Lantana

Dahlias

I’ve been getting some great inspiration for spinning from my parents’ garden this summer. Working with my hand carders, the latest roving I have produced came from these two plants. The first is lantana. It’s kind of like a candytuft, but on fire. The second is my old favourite, the dahlia. My Isle of Wight grandad, Georgie used to grow them for shows and was forever moaning that the earwigs were getting in them. My Mum grows them today as a reminder of him.

Roving for dahlia yarn

I’m going to spin up some yarn in this colourway and depending on how much I get out of it, will make either wristwarmers or a hat for my Mum.

Something in me says I should make an earwig motif to go on them. I think she might appreciate that.

One response

  1. libby

    beautiful.

    02/10/2009 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

