From Skein to Ball of Yarn

from Twisted in Portland, Oregon.

This is splendid!
I really love Lego, but didn’t have the mechanised type growing up. Just imagine the My Little Pony carriages I could have built if I had! After seeing this video, I’m very tempted to go and buy some now. I’ve been thinking about making my own swift for a while, however I have to admit that if I had a yarn winder it might just sit there…

Alright, I have a confession. I like to wind my yarn by hand. It’s such an integral part of the process of knitting for me that I think that a yarn winder might distance me from the yarn. I’m not sure if I’m being silly here or not because I’ve never tried using one, but the personal contact through winding seems important to me.
Does anyone else have this quandry?

2 responses

  1. Hi Ingrid,

    I love Lego, especially the technical lego, that lets you build things with cogs and gears etc.
    A while back I made a very simple swift from Lego for Just call me Ruby, that still gets used on a regular basis. http://justcallmeruby.blogspot.com/2008/04/legoland.html

    02/09/2009 at 5:00 pm

    • ingridnation

      Now that’s ace!

      02/09/2009 at 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

