a week of new skills

I’ve been busy doing lots of new things this past week. As well as learning to dye with food colouring, I’ve been doing a lot of spinning and refining my technique. Overdyeing yarn that I don’t much care for has helped rejuvenate my stash a bit. I forgot to take a ‘before’ photo of this sock yarn. It was a sludgy green and quite uninspiring. Look at it now!

Bright Green Overdyed Sock Yarn

Bright Green Overdyed Sock Yarn

As for the spinning. Well. I had always pre-drafted the roving before this week. It was fine at first, but recently I had found it intensely frustrating when it didn’t spin up to be just how I wanted it. For all the preparation I had little control over what I was making while I was making it. Turns out that I was working with slightly suspect information and that you don’t have to pre-draft! Well, I was shocked. And relieved. Then I spent much of my free time this week learning to draft properly. It is such freedom. I used these videos in which drafting (and beginning to spin in general) was explained very well. According to my sources, you are best to avoid this one though.

This is what I’ve been spinning:

Not keen on this roving but now Im spinning it I love it!

Not keen on this as roving but now I'm spinning it I love it!

Stormy batt carded together by a friend (also gave me the lovely spindle)

Stormy batt carded together by a friend (who also gave me the lovely spindle)

As well as these, I received some gorgeous fibre from Caerthan on Ravelry which I will be spinning up very soon. The batt, pictured bottom has as its base fleece from his own alpacas.

Lovely chunk of indigo silk

Lovely chunk of indigo silk

Indigo alpaca-based batt

Indigo alpaca-based batt

I might even upload a skein of IngridNation handspun to The Yarn Museum soon.

6 responses

  1. elibbybet

    YAY! You’re doing so much better with that tiny Grafton spindle than I can. And the stormy batt is coming out lovely! I knew you’d make it beautiful.

    29/07/2009 at 2:32 pm

    • ingridnation

      Thanks! I plyed some together this morning: got 68m out of half the batt which I didn’t think was bad going. I’ve got a hell of a lot better at spinning since I learned to draft straight from the fibre.

      29/07/2009 at 2:36 pm

      • Libby

        yeah, predrafting can cause more problems than it solves.

        68m is not half bad for 50g of fiber (that batt was about 4oz or 100g).

        04/08/2009 at 3:10 pm

  2. I really love the beautiful emerald green sock yarn! And I’m always impressed by anyone who can spin as I wouldn’t know where to start.

    30/07/2009 at 1:01 pm

    • ingridnation

      Thanks Cassie!

      30/07/2009 at 9:47 pm

  3. Oooooo! Green sock yarn… It’s bloomin’ luscious!

    02/08/2009 at 12:49 am

Leave a Reply

