kinetic knitting performance art

(via ArtYarn)

I really do love movement in a piece of art. For me, it can add so much to the experience of being its audience. I find that for some reason it makes me think more about the work as well.

Sometimes it is just mere the hint that the work might not be entirely static. Oh, and I don’t mean powered by electricity necessarily. The whole thrill of this for me is that it is people-powered. I think that is why I am often using garments as a vehicle for my work lately. There is that possibility of interaction. Someone could make them move and that’s quite exciting because then they take on further meaning.

P.S. I’d love to know who that is in the video. Anyone have an idea?

One response

  1. susanbourne

    it’s tanya aquiniga, isn’t it? website: http://www.aguinigadesign.com

    beautiful works and ideas in action. thanks for sharing it with us.

    susan powers bourne http://innerknitting.wordpress.com

    19/09/2009 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

