Earthed

Earthed Handspun

Earthed Handspun

This evening has been all about spinning. I’ve been trying to make a yarn with the look of the earth wire in a UK electrical plug for a hat that I am planning. I plyed this as an exercise in seeing how these two yarns would work together. Although not entirely what I was expecting, I’m pleased with it as a first effort. It is a purposefully slubby single handspun wool, corespun around a yellow commercial DK weight yarn. The plyed yarn’s texture is reminiscent of brainwaves in some places; of the yellow and green earth wire in others.

I don’t think I’ve made enough though. It may have to be a child-sized beanie.

I really want the hat to use the language of insulation at cross purposes. The idea of keeping a head warm, but using a visual of electrical instulation makes a certain kind of sense to me. It should enable me to talk about epilepsy via this and other visual cues.

But more on that later.

2 responses

  1. That’s pretty neat – but the SNAP pic that shows up when you hover over “UK Electrical Plug” is utterly wrong – wire a UK plug up like that and you’ll be in for a bit of a, uhm, ‘surprise’ … LOL.

    06/08/2009 at 10:14 am

    • ingridnation

      Eep! Clearly we should all be grateful that I am not an electrician! Thanks for letting me know: now rectified.

      11/08/2009 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

