George: a Basic Coffee Cup Cosy Pattern

The inspiration for this coffee cup cosy was twofold. Firstly, my Mum doesn’t find it easy to grip a coffee cup without a handle and was trying to think of a solution. Secondly, although I rather like take-away coffee and hot chocolate, I don’t like the free advertising that the companies are getting from me on their cups.  This coffee cup cosy rectifies both of the problems in one pattern.

Following in the spirit of my grandad George (who would cut labels off everything and always turned supermarket bags inside out before using them) I have always liked to obilterate logos. Those of you who followed me in the @Platea Co-Modify performance, may well be surprised by this (but do remember, it was a performance and I couldn’t care less whose yarn I am using). However, those who know me in real life will find it difficult to think of any clothing or accessories which I have with a logo or visible label left intact.

George Coffee Cup Cosies

George Coffee Cup Cosies

So now you know the background, on to the instructions!

I’ve made this a really simple pattern which can be knitted up in around an hour, so would be great for a last minute present and is easy enough to knit in front of the tv or at the cinema. It is marvellous for stashbusting: it takes around 30 metres of yarn, give or take, but you could always use up lots of oddments by striping them. It is knitted flat, in stocking stitch and six buttons are added for closure. It fits a regular or large sized take away-cup, and as you can see, you can tailor it to be smaller and it fit through the handle of a mug too. This would be a great beginner pattern, teaching casting on and off, knit and purl stitches, kfb increases and eyelets.

Basic Shape for Coffee Cup Cosy

Basic Shape for Coffee Cup Cosy

Materials

Leftover chunky/bulky yarn (also works with 2 strands of DK held together, as above)

4.5mm-5mm needles

6 small buttons and embroidery thread for sewing

Abbreviations

k = knit

p = purl

yo = yarn over (wrap yarn around working needle once)

k2tog = knit two stitches together

kfb = knit front and back in same stitch (to increase)

Pattern

Cast on 32 stitches

Row 1: knit all stitches

*Row 2: k3, yo, k2tog, k to end

Row 3: purl all stitches

Row 4: kfb, k to last stitch, kfb

Row 5: purl all stitches*

Repeat rows 2-5, 4 times (21 rows total)

Row 22: k3, yo, k2tog, k to end

Row 23: knit all stitches

Cast off

Weave in ends and add buttons at appropriate places.

n.b. If you are making a mug cosy, repeat rows 2-5 only twice.

So, let me know how it goes if you decide to make one: would love to see pics if you have them! I will add some alternative stitch patterns for the cosy over the next week.

Please feel free to knit up the coffee cup cosies to keep or as gifts/charity fundraising, but please do not knit up for commercial purposes or reproduce the pattern without first seeking permission.

Copyright © Ingrid Murnane 2009. All rights reserved.

5 responses

  1. Libby

    YAY! I’m gonna have to make one now! But in typical Libby fashion, I’m gonna make it in the round. Partly cause I dont have any buttons. *grin*

    I used to make beer cozies from crochet cotton for my mom. I should figure out how to write out that pattern…

    27/05/2009 at 6:58 pm

    • ingridnation

      You might want to adjust it to be a bit smaller then: lose 3 or 4 stitches. Or you could buy some buttons… 🙂

      27/05/2009 at 10:49 pm

  2. Gina

    Ingrid
    these are adorable! my friend gave me (and I couldn’t believe it) a little jar of her grandmothers buttons! I will make her one of these using some of the buttons!

    I will also be making one for myself!

    thanks hun!
    x
    Gina

    27/05/2009 at 11:41 pm

  3. NovaStitcher

    Thanks for the lovely pattern, I found this on ravelry. What a great way to use up mismatched and novelty buttons. I’ve already cast on…

    17/02/2010 at 5:23 pm

    • ingridnation

      Glad that you like it! I’m looking forward to seeing the finished article 🙂

      18/02/2010 at 10:12 am

Leave a comment